An Open Letter to Daylight Savings


(credit)

So, dearest Daylight Savings, although I lose an hour in the spring, I happily welcome you and the chance for you to bring extra daylight into my life for the eight-ish months when you’re around. I realize that you were created for farming purposes and I was intrigued enough about you to ask if you exist in Portugal (where you do, though who knows what it’s called there, because “Daylight Savings” as a foreign term when mentioned). I realize that all good things must come to an end, but seriously? Let me just tell you the reasons why I think it’s pretty shitty that you have to end, especially in New England where I reside.

First off, I feel like you do not need to end. I think that it would be much better if we all turned our clocks ahead next March and just let our clocks STAY that way. Then come November when we gain the (much appreciated) extra hour.

Because I have to be a “mature, responsible adult” I work roughly a 9-5 schedule weekly. (Trust me, I’m working on figuring out how to do without that because who needs that, really?) This means that I do not see daylight when I get out of work. The sun has already set. I can’t take my dog for a walk. I have no real sense of time when it’s ALWAYS dark. My poor dog is more depressed than ever, laying around moping because he can’t get out enough to go out and play and pee on every blade of grass while we walk down the street. There’s no way I would walk in the cold and dark night when I live surrounded by woods and possibly weirdos.

Ever heard of Seasonal Affective Disorder? Seasonal depression? It’s caused my lack of sunlight. So it’s bad enough in the winter when the sun isn’t even sure how to shine the right way, but go already and throw in your ending and there’s just that much less sunlight while any person is not being a slave to the mundane 9-5.

It’s also really depressing to wake up while it’s still dark out. I guess the worst part is when you wake up in the winter and it’s freezing already, you look out the window and feel so hopeless because even the sun is too depressed to shine.

Please regard my opinions in your thoughts next year about existing. Thank you very much.

<3.Melanie.Kristy

Note: This blog post was featured in WordPress.com’s “Freshly Pressed” on November 15, 2010. Thanks everyone for stopping by!