Kindred: Grown Up. No one can tell me I can’t say FUCK.

The Kindred Collective is a group of creatives, “grown ups” who use their minds and hands and make things inspired by weekly themes. This is my piece on being a grown up, a few weeks too late. Because being grown up means sometimes you can’t get your shit together on time.

The Kindred Collective

I’m not sure I ever took the time to contemplate what it means to be grown up. As a kid my thoughts were on owning a house and getting married and having kids and doing what’s supposed to happen next. High school led to undergrad. I always wanted to write.

 

Write write write.

 

In my head my future was writing, publishing novels, living in a city and traveling all the time. But I never took the time to fill in that fantasy and figure out what it means to be that person. That I would have to show up and do the work.

 

So now I’m on the last months before I turn thirty, and I’ve been thinking about it more and more. My entire twenties have been a sort of quarterlife crisis. You can say that doesn’t exist, but maybe our entire generation* is in the…

View original post 404 more words

Leave a Reply

