Things I love Thursday – Thanksgiving Edition

20131128-102534.jpg

((That’s the Mayflower to the left in the background))

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! We host for my family at my house every year and I’m just between cleaning and setting up and getting dressed (and wearing a gold star shirt) and waiting for people to arrive.

If you don’t already know, I live a town over from where this day all started. I feel conflicted a lot about it because while I recognize what today is about, we don’t really know what started it. There are people who object to thanksgiving. Natives has their relatives killed. The Pilgrims came and TOOK over and that gets glossed over.

You know what else gets glossed over? The fact that some states allow retail stores to be open today (Massachusetts does not). It’s funny the juxtaposition of Thanksgiving and Black Friday. Say your thanks today so you can be materialistic and save pennies tomorrow. Maybe get crushed or be the crusher.

Today I’m thankful for warm sunny mornings, iced coffee in mason jars and egg sandwiches. I’m thankful for dreaming and wishing and making big plans to see and do. I’m thankful for words and fiction for being a huge part of my life. I’m thankful for every breath I’m allowed to take, for the fact that my feet still work and dance around and for my body for being my vessel. I’m thankful for my amazing friends and family all over the world. I’m thankful for Facebook (yes,
Really) for keeping me connected for faraway friends I may never otherwise see and connect with. I’m thankful for J who came into my life only a few months ago and has already made me feel so much. I’m thankful for snail mail and foot lotion and bubble bars from Lush. I’m thankful I have today off as a paid holiday because I’m lucky enough to have a full time job with benefits. I’m thankful I went back to school when I did (instead of waiting). I’m thankful for my word warriors and Francesca Lia Block who are the supportive writing community I didn’t know I created. And lastly I’m thankful to have an abundance of food on my table and heat to keep us warm during these cold days.

What are you thankful for?

Love,
Melanie Kristy

One thought on “Things I love Thursday – Thanksgiving Edition

  1. I’m pretty obsessed with mason jars right now so it made me smile that they were kinda on your list. Also, egg sammiches and snail mail- both are equally as delish.

Leave a Reply

