Things I Love

It’s so easy to let says slip by unnoticed. Then suddenly you’re in the middle of being 27 years old and you’re wondering what you’re doing. Or you’ve realized it’s the middle of March 2012 and you haven’t posted one single thing for this month in your blog. Or maybe you’re halfway down the block when you realize you didn’t bring what you needed or that you should have gone in the opposite direction. I feel like life is a lot like that. It’s a string of words on a necklace, it’s comprised of many tasks or events, it’s the amount of paychecks we can acquire over time. Life really isn’t that. But it’s easy to just let it slip by and become that. Mundane.

Then you meet someone and you wonder, why weren’t you really in my life sooner? Or you read a book that makes you cry the hardest tears. Or a movie goes in theaters that you are actually excited about even if it’s based off a book (aren’t they all nowadays?). Or you and some of your friends decide to start an online magazine and the debut date is creeping up so damn fast.

My point today was really that I haven’t done Things I Love Thursday in forever, and I haven’t posted about things I love in general, and this is something that’s important to me. It’s so easy to let the days slip by, the weeks move on to the next and all of a sudden you’re in the middle of the middle of… of what, really? You  may not even know. And you can’t remember quite how you got there. Or why you’re still there.

Taking the time to write about things that you love breaks up the time. It forces you to think, to appreciate. It’s a moment in time where you can’t have anything but love. At least, that’s what it’s like for me. And I’ve been missing that.

And so, here are some things I love today. This week. In March. Whatever.

Spur of the moment bus rides to New York City
Watching the Wizard of Oz for the first time in years
Receiving a package in the mail consisting of a zine I bought, some beautiful hair bows and other things I won in a blog giveaway (Thank you, Erica!)
Looking up at the stars in the middle of the night and feeling the weight of existence.
Buying a new purse
Microwaving frozen veggie Samosas (definitely not as good as the real thing, but good enough)
New sweet mint chapstick that tingles (by EOS)
Finding an amazing Photobooth app on my phone (It’s called Pocketbooth) then promptly using it all of the time.
A grey cardigan with sequins on it.
Pretending to be a tourist in Plymouth
Smelling like Paris Amour and Be Enchanted
clean sheets

What do you love today?

One thought on “Things I Love

  1. I totally agree about life sneaking by us! That’s one reason I love keeping a blog — it keeps me tethered in the present because I can only write about what I know now. I can only make my blog as good as it can possibly be right now. What comes tomorrow is a surprise, but for now, I can process today in writing. I love it!

Leave a Reply

