How To Start a Blog (Or, How to Stop Being Over-whelmed and Get Things Done)


(weheartit)

So, I overwhelm myself very often. There are things I wish I had accomplished that I should have started five years ago. I look back on this and get frustrated. Then I make a list of all the things I want to do or have done or be in the process of doing and… I get overwhelmed. There’s so much to do! Some of these things are SO hard! They require discipline. They require consistency. I feel like I don’t even know what these words mean.

If you can empathize with anything I’ve said up there, or if you’re just looking to stop fearing (!!) the blog world so you can start your own, this is the place to be.

1. Make a list of what it is you want to do. This is more for if you want to do more than just create a blog. This is in case you want to lose a hundred pounds, write an entire novel, create a successful blog and start training for a 5k.

2. Separate each goal and write out steps that you think you need to take in order to achieve this goal.
To start a blog:
* Need a name
* Choose a client. I use WordPress. You can also use Blogger or Tumblr or whatever else you choose
* Think about what you might want to write about. This doesn’t have to be a definite thing, you can figure it out as you go along. Or you can narrow it down right this minute.
*Write entries. What kinds of entries are you going to have?
* Publish entries. Decide if you’re going to publish on a consistent basis. Try to do that.
* Advertise somehow. I publish my blog posts on Twitter and Facebook.
* Comment on blogs so that bloggers can become familiar with you and your url.

3. Are you overwhelmed yet? I sort of am, an I’ve already done most of those steps. So once you’ve figured out what you think you need to do, at least the basics, get started.

4. Think: What is it that I can do TODAY. And do that today. (Write a blog post? E-mail a blogger whose posts you enjoy? Ask for some guest posts?)

5. Think: What is it that I can do TOMORROW. And the NEXT DAY. And do those things.

6. Don’t give up if the progress is slow. (Only give up if you decide that you hate what you’re doing. Though it’s okay to hate your blog every once in a while. If, over all, you love it, then don’t give up. Keep on writing.)

Remember: Blogging (and probably anything else you want to do) is hard work. You have to be willing to do the hard work, whether or not you really want to. If you get bored, find more ways to spice things up. In a year, you’ll be proud of yourself for publishing your 200th blog post.

7. Something else to keep you going: write about it. Blog about your blogging experiences, write in a blog about how you are learning to lose weight, make candy, eat your weight in cheese, etc. It’s nice to be held accountable somewhere, even if it’s just via Facebook statuses.

What do you do to get things done?

One thought on “How To Start a Blog (Or, How to Stop Being Over-whelmed and Get Things Done)

  1. This is a great entry, Melanie! Very good tips and advice, I must say. I neglected my blog for a couple of days while busy even though I had a ton of things to write about. Finally got a chance to write today and damn! I feel relieved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

