The Most Important Meal?


(weheartit)

Breakfast is always tricky for me. I’m not a morning person. I don’t have the time to really make something, so when I find something I like I can go weeks eating variations of the same thing. And then all of a sudden it isn’t fulfilling anymore. When I’m starving by 9:30am, I know it’s time to try something new. I’m currently ending a shake phase, and I’ve been craving peanut butter on toast lately.

Here are some things I eat for breakfast, or have in the past:

When I was in Italy I started off my stay by eating healthy: yogurt and fresh squeezed orange juice, but it wasn’t long before I was eating chocolate filled pastries for breakfast. The weekend I was in Rome I ate Cannolis (because I couldn’t find them in Tuscany, and why waste the opportunity to eat Cannolis?)

Cold pizza is definitely a favorite of mine. Though it’s rare for slices to make it that long in my house, I never miss the chance to take a few for breakfast.

Shakes. This can be anything from Slimfast to blended smoothies. They’re quick and easy and not too messy. I add frozen berries, spinach, peanut butter, cinnamon, orange juice or whatever else I can find. Or I just shake it with water.

Peanut butter or almond butter on toast, or as a sandwich with bananas or pumpkin butter. The protein from the nut butter holds me over pretty well and the fiber in the bread adds to that.

Instant oatmeal with berries or peanut butter (or both! It’s like a peanut butter and jelly oatmeal mess). The oats can be dense, and combined with fruit or nut butter, it adds that “stick to your ribs” feeling.

Bars. Cliff bars and Luna bars and Lara bars tend to be my favorites. But after a while those aren’t very satisfying.

Greek yogurt with almonds/ walnuts and a couple chocolate chips. I loved this combination until I realized I’m lactose intolerant and yogurt is definitely not on my list of tolerated dairy products. And yes, I have Lactaid pills, but I try not to use them (unless I’m drinking iced coffee). I’d rather just eat something else.

My go-to breakfast is a sesame bagel from Dunkin Donuts, toasted with cream cheese. Though it totally lacks nutrition, so I try not to eat those very often. (The cheddar cheese bagel twists are also really awesome).

For a while I was addicted to chicken biscuits from McDonalds. I always felt like shit after I ate them, but they tasted so good. I dont think McDonalds up here carries them anymore, but that’s probably for the best (for me, at least).

What do you eat for breakfast?

4 thoughts on “The Most Important Meal?

  1. I need to go back to making smoothies. I was on such a smoothie kick last summer and I kinda miss them. I go through breakfast phases too. I was obsessed with SmartOnes breakfast burritos for a while, til one day they just started grossing me out (and they are too expensive!). I go through phases where all I want is cereal (I too am lactose intolerant so it’s soy milk for me). I went through a Zone bar phase. Recently I’ve been having a mix up of things. Being pregnant there isn’t a whole lot I even want to eat – and I’m not the kind of person that likes to eat right away in the morning. But if I don’t I start to get nauseous. So it’s been a lot of peanut butter on wheat bread and Nature’s Valley Oat and Honey bars lately. PS. I owe you a letter<3

  2. My husband eats shakes for breakfast too, so I’ll let him know some of the random things you throw in yours so maybe he can try them out in his. I’m a toast, cereal or frozen waffle (ew- I’m really trying to stop eating these) kinda girl. I love love love Clif Bars, but I never eat them for breakfast. Usually I end up eating those for a snack at work or after the gym at night. I’m not a big fan of cold pizza (I prefer it reheated in the oven) but that’s not to say I haven’t eaten cold pizza for breakfast before, haha. I love love love Nutella on toast, and Cheeze Whiz on toast, and this morning I had plain olf butter on toast (always wheat). I love whole wheat bagels with cream cheese and oatmeal with berries, though I never thought of throwing a nut butter in there as well, which I will do next time. (I have strawberries and nutella and maple oatmeal in the house, so it sounds like that will be breakfast tomorrow, omnomnom.) My favorite cereal is Special K Vanilla Almond and it’s excellent with raspberries thrown on top.

  3. I’m spoiled living in Texas, land of super cheap breakfast tacos. If I could, I’d eat those every morning. Or maybe even all day.

    Lately, my go-tos are cereal (Honey Bunches of Oats for all the different textures) or berries in plain oatmeal. Boring, but satisfying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

