A Living with Sleep Apnea update

(I promise not to make this blog into everything about sleep apnea all the time, blah blah blah. But I think it’s an important problem to talk about, not only because it’s rather common but also because it’s not really talked about.)
 
I got a new mask yesterday. It’s “for women” or whatever (which means that it comes with a pink strap and is probably a little more petite) and has nasal pillows instead of a face mask. The nasal pillows blow air right up into my nose. It’s a very strange feeling, and my nose feels kind of strange this morning, like something was trying to stretch it last night.
 
I woke up at 2:30am sweating a lot and wide awake. I had to get up, get some water and find ways to make myself cooler. I had to turn the television back on. (Ten minutes later my mom came into my room, closed my door then went into the living room to watch TV for herself. At 2:30am! A little early…) I had to listen to myself breathing, the sounds were elevated to an unusual level. That’s something I need to get used to. I spent the summer drowning the breathing sounds out with a fan, but it would be much easier if I was just used to that sound by now. Or in the near future…
 
This morning when my alarm clock went off, however, I bolted right out of bed. It took me a few minutes to stop the feeling as if I was suffocating (when I’m aware of my breathing, I am much more apt to feel like I’m suffocating if I can’t breathe through my mouth properly). I ripped the mask off, stumbled to reach the button to turn the machine off then tried to reach my cell phone to turn the alarm off without falling off the bed. But overall, as of right this very minute, I feel a lot less sleepy. So here’s to hoping that feeling will remain.
 
<3. Melanie.Kristy
3 thoughts on “A Living with Sleep Apnea update

  1. I’m glad to hear that the results, if not the side-effects, are that you feel better. Maybe you could use a sleep machine? As far as I can tell, they just make noises loud enough to create a background, but not so loud they keep you awake.
    Beyond that, I find it mildly offensive that “women’s” means “pink” to a lot of people. Does pink look cute as an accent color? Sure. Does EVERYTHING for women need to be pink? No.
    I’m glad it’s a better fit though. 🙂
    (And, I agree people should talk about it!)

    • at first when I read sleep machine, I thought you were making up some machine that makes you sleep. That would be kind of cool. You mean a white noise type machine?

      Well, there’s also grey straps on it, in case you don’t want pink! 🙂

Leave a Reply

