How Do You Relax?

This morning (okay so almost afternoon) I feel completely incapable of freeing my mind, clearing whatever is going on inside there and actually thinking of something new.  So what I want to know today is, what do you do to wind down?

I was doing yoga.  It was working effectively but it’s hard work to do yoga to wind down, and though I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that, it just makes it a little harder for me to force myself to go that way.

I always think that reading and laying down or watching TV or a movie will help. It doesn’t. I think that might have to do with the fact that sometimes in attempt to feel relaxed, I ignore other things that I should be doing (listing those books on Amazon, putting my clothes away, etc.) and the reminder is there all the while I’m trying to relax. (So in theory I should DO those things then try to relax? Yeah, I know.) I walk sometimes but that doesn’t seem to do the trick. So I’m just wondering what your tricks are.

More often lately I’ve been very aware of my shoulders and how I hold them. I tend to tense them without even realizing it, even while I’m trying to sleep my shoulders “fall” very close to my ears. I feel better as soon as I realize my posture and try to straighten and losing my shoulders. There’s no need to sit or lay or walk around like I’m carrying the whole world up there. Cliche or not. Sometimes I feel like I’m carrying everyone elses’ worlds, too.

But anyway. I need more yoga. What else?

<3.Melanie.Kristy

2 thoughts on “How Do You Relax?

  1. I use an alternative medication to calm down and unwind. I sit with my husband, we split a couple of bowls and talk about our day. It’s the best form of relaxation, aside from maybe sex.

Leave a Reply

