Love is a Dangerous Angel

I need to start taking better pictures for this blog...

“A kiss about apple pie a la mode with the vanilla creaminess melting in the pie heat. A kiss about chocolate when you haven’t eaten chocolate in a year. A kiss about palm trees speeding by, trailing pink clouds when you drive down the strip sizzling with champagne. A kiss about spotlights fanning the sky and the swollen sea spilling like tears all over your legs.” – Francesca Lia Block

In high school I discovered Francesca Lia Block. I fell in love with her prose, drinking in all of her words. I made soundtracks and tried to make up recipes from all of the delicious sounding meals that are mentioned in her novels. I took on the identity of Lady Ivory as part of a delicate duo who set out to conquer with words. I bought all of her books and I read them. I reread them. I met so many people through her words, and I am grateful to every single novel she has published.

I’ve given away so many copies of Violet & Claire that one time when I wanted to replace a copy I gave away, I bought two so I had one just for myself.

Now Francesca Lia Block is more active in online communities. You can friend her on Facebook, follow her on Twitter and read her http://loveinthetimeofglobalwarming.blogspot.com/. She offers online classes and workshops in person. She’s still the goddess she seemed to be eight years ago, weaving magic with words and sprinkling it everywhere.

Ms. Block’s words appear as short stories in collections as well as her own novels and the occasional essay. I know I mentioned her quite recently because of the Weetzie Bat screen play reading. And I’m going to mention her again quite soon, as I plan on reviewing her newest novel as soon as I have my hands on it. I saw it in Borders yesterday and thought about buying that copy (though I talked myself out of it. I should have it by tomorrow…). I did, however, buy a new copy of Dangerous Angels.

As soon as I saw the new cover to this edition to Dangerous Angels I knew I had to have it. The picture has been the background on my phone for the past couple months. It’s a white face with piercing blue eyes. I don’t know what about it made me need it. I don’t buy second copies of hardly anything, especially if I already have it and know where the original is. (The exception to this would be to give away a copy. I bought The Perks of Being A Wallflower because I couldn’t find my copy. But I lent it to my neighbour and found my original days later. She got to keep the copy. I am overly willing to give out amazing books when I know that someone else will love them.)

Dangerous Angels is a collection of five novellas about Weetzie Bat and her family and friends. It’s a book about love, friendship, relationships and life. It’s about freedom and doing what you want, appreciating what you have and making do with what you don’t have.

2 thoughts on “Love is a Dangerous Angel

  1. reading the opening quote immediately took me back to being 15. its amazing how much influence those books had during those years.
    i do wish we’d compiled our recipes to make a cookbook like we mentioned so long ago.
    my violet and i never got to explore LA looking for francescas pink cottage like wed planned. although, my violet did get to go get a true original oakie dog, did i ever tell you that? she said it was gross, haha.
    i look forward to your review of the new book!

    • I miss reading about “your Violet” I feel like we’re all a little bit too grown up… or grown awayish (apart? that’s the word I’m looking for but meaning a little bit different). You never told me she had an oakie dog, that’s too bad it was gross! I want to go to one of Francesca’s workshops one time, she does them at her house. I bet they’re magical. I still wish we had compiled those recipes. Her newer stuff lacks the element of food… after all vampires don’t eat… I wish she had more books that take place elsewhere, or places I could explore. I still want to go to LA and hit all of the spots mentioned in the Dangerous Angels books and some of the others. I want to go out to see the Joshua Trees. ❤

Leave a Reply

