New England Clam Chowder; Cabby Shack

Last night at Cabby Shack, Krista kept asking me about the clam chowder. To be honest, I’ve had it before, but I couldn’t remember a thing about it. I knew I wanted it because I tend to get chowder cravings at the oddest (and every once in a while the most appropriate) of times. I knew it wasn’t terrible or that there wasn’t some part of it that stood out to me that I wasn’t a fan of. Like, for example, I always remember that Panera Bread doesn’t have my favourite clam chowder. I can never remember why. Having eaten it recently I know, at the moment at least, that it’s because it’s completely lacking salt and maybe lacking a little bit of oniony flavour. Also it lacks a good amount of clam flavour.

Finally she explained that Cabby Shack’s clam chowder was featured on Food Network’s “Best Meal I’ve Ever Eaten” and apparently it’s amazing. But her mom said it wasn’t that good.

Even though I planned on ordering the chowder before that moment, I knew I absolutely had to have it then. The chowder comes out in mugs — the usual coffee size for a “cup” or a round I-need-copious-amounts-of-tea size for a “bowl” size. It’s often spilling over the ceramic, possibly down the server’s arms and when our server set it down I knew there was no possible way this chowder “isn’t that good”.

There was a small pool of yellowy butter that needed to be mixed into the creamy chowder. Before then I hadn’t realized that chowder had butter in it. It was chunky and thick, potato-y and clammy and everything a good chowder should be. It wasn’t too bland, wasn’t too, well anything really. It was perfect and I can absolutely see why it would be on “The Best Meal I Ever Ate”. If you ever find yourself in the Plymouth area, I highly recommend stopping by Cabby Shack, taking a picture of yourself as a lobster, then eating an abundance of delicious chowder.

We left wishing we had ordered the chowder in bread bowls and left our meal at that.

It’s posts like these that remind me that I should look into writing reviews for restaurants or being a part time food critic. On the drive back to my house we discussed our pitch ideas for the Travel Network (and maybe possibly the Food Network). If it doesn’t work out for me to be a part time food critic, I absolutely would not protest for a television show to send us to Europe to eat, date, cook or any of the above.

<3. Melanie.Kristy

12 thoughts on “New England Clam Chowder; Cabby Shack

  1. This is the place we went when we found out about Mayfest, yes? I think I had a lobster roll and it was delicious – rivals Gulf seafood!

    Also, I’ve never been a huge fan of clam chowder, but maybe it’s because I’m not getting it from the right places.

    • yes it is!!! Ha, and Lindsay declared she was definitely going. I realize all these years later that I’m not even sure if we ever asked if we could stay with you, on either of those trips. Haha, soooo sorry about that, if that’s the case. Also, you probably aren’t getting it in the right places. I mean, one time I tried to get it in Ohio (really stupid idea…) and it was rather gray looking…

  2. This chowder sounds amazing. My family used to go to Plymouth all the time for vacations, and I’ve probably even been to this place, but don’t remember it.

    Chowder in bread bowls, well, that’s just divine. Plain and simple. One of my favorite things about living in New England!

    • It’s one of my favourites, too! Where in New England do you live? Maybe you even had the chowder there! If anything, you’d remember there’s a giant lobster thing outside by the ramp that you can put your face in, in place of the lobster’s and take pictures (at least, that’s what I do when I stick my face in there…)

      • I’m in RI, home of the weak and pitiful clear chowder. No milk, no cream, no fun.

        I vaguely remember the lobster outside, but it’s been several years since we were in Plymouth. It sounds awfully familiar, though.

        My favorite bread bowl chowder, honestly, is from the Boston Chowder Co. in Faneuil Hall.

      • Ohhh, I don’t think I’ve had chowder in RI but it doesn’t sound too pleasant. I’ll have to check out Boston Chowder Co. I’m sure I have before, but I can’t really remember it.

  3. Pingback: Seven Things! | Melaniekristy's Blog

  4. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday: Food. | So Baby Why Don't We Just Dance?

Leave a Reply

