Wanderlust Haikus

suitcases are packed
spontaneous departure
live within the world

homesick for your land
in love before we had met
i long to breathe you

one culture is not
enough for this country girl
please bring me with you

away we go and
promise me we will not stay
for eternity

he said that you should
remember the way fingers
feel against sidewalk

Some days I feel more longing than others to get out of this town and go exploring. Tonight my heart is bursting with homesickness and a feeling that can’t be filled by dreams and pictures.

I long for Italy. I long for other countries I’ve never been to. I long to see other parts of my world, America. I want to learn new languages and see new people and take cheesy tourist photographs.

If you could go anywhere right now, where would you go?

Leave a Reply

